Press Release

2020 Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year Preseason Watch List

HOUSTON – Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, the leading publication for all things football in Texas, and the Texas Bowl proudly announce the 100-player Watch List for the Mr. Texas Football High School Player of the Year Award. The voters, when appropriate, will add players to the watch list.

Mr. Texas Football annually recognizes the most outstanding high school football player in the state of Texas. Each week, fans are given a chance to vote for the player of the week on At the end of the high school football season, 10 finalists will be named. Fans can then cast their vote as to who should be named Mr. Texas Football. The winner of the 2020 Mr. Texas Football Award will be announced prior to the 2020 Texas Bowl, which will be played at NRG Stadium in Houston. 

Current players of this year’s watch list include:

Galena Park North Shore QB Dematrius Davis

Lakeview Centennial RB Camar Wheaton

Aledo WR JoJo Earle

Fort Worth All Saints OL Tommy Brockermeyer

Pleasant Grove DL Landon Jackson

Grandview QB Dane Jentsch

Motley County RB Jake Richards

Mart ATH Roddrell Freeman

El Paso Americas RB Aaron Dumas

Sharyland Pioneer QB Eddie Lee Marburger

Lampasas QB Ace Whitehead

Former winners of the award include 2018 Heisman Trophy winner and No. 1 overall pick Kyler Murray (2013 and 2014 winner, Allen), 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel (2010 winner, Kerrville Tivy), former Texas Longhorns running back Johnathan Gray (2011 winner, Aledo), former Tampa Bay Buccaneers running back Jacquizz Rodgers (2007 winner, Lamar Consolidated), current Oklahoma State quarterback Spencer Sanders (2017 winner, Denton Ryan) and Carolina Panthers quarterback Garrett Gilbert (2008 winner, Lake Travis). Frisco Lone Star and Oklahoma Sooners wide receiver Marvin Mims took home the award in 2019.

The 2020 Bowl will once again feature a matchup between Big 12 and SEC opponents. The 2019 Texas Bowl, which was among the top-5 most-attended bowls in the country for the sixth consecutive year, featured the Texas A&M Aggies, representing the SEC, and the Oklahoma State Cowboys, representing the Big 12. The Aggies edged the Cowboys, 24-21, in a hard-hitting thriller. Overall, the Texas Bowl has ranked fifth in attendance since 2016, trailing only the Rose, Cotton, Fiesta and Peach Bowls in that time.

For more information on the Mr. Texas Football Award, visit or

About the Texas Bowl

The Texas Bowl is owned and operated by ESPN Events, a subsidiary of ESPN, and managed locally by Lone Star Sports & Entertainment. The Bowl has showcased teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, two of the country’s premier conferences since 2014. The Texas Bowl has been a tremendous success both on and off the field over its first 14 years as it is the 5th most-attended bowl in the country since 2016. The bowl generates over $40 million annually for the Houston economy and has donated more than $1,200,000 in financial support and millions more in promotional support to DePelchin Children’s Center, the bowl’s official charitable beneficiary.

About Dave Campbell’s Texas Football

For more than 60 years, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football has been “the bible” to millions of football fans across the Lone Star State. The annual summer edition of the magazine remains a rite of passage for all Texans, previewing every football team in the state — from the rabid world of Texas high school football, through the college ranks, and into the Dallas Cowboys and the Houston Texans. Over the course of six decades, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football remains the undisputed leader in Texas high school football, Texas college football and more. is the online home of Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, covering high school football, college football and recruiting all across the Lone Star State. From thought-provoking commentary to videos to podcasts to its daily live show, nobody covers football in Texas like


2020 Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year

Preseason Watch List

DL David Abiara, Mansfield Legacy

WR Shadrach Banks, Galena Park North Shore

RB Kevorian Barnes, San Augustine

DB CJ Baskerville, Richland

RB Brian Benavides, Laredo United South

LB Kendrick Blackshire, Duncanville

ATH Billy Bowman, Denton Ryan

OL Tommy Brockermeyer, Fort Worth All Saints

OL James Brockermeyer, Fort Worth All Saints

RB Doug Brooks, Shiner

QB Kyle Brown, Cedar Park Vista Ridge

ATH Landon Burkhart, Richland Springs

DL Ethan Byerly, Hamlin

OL Savion Byrd, Duncanville

RB Lane Carrasco, Balmorhea

DB Cicero Caston, Weatherford

ATH Koby Clinkscales, Blum

DB JD Coffey, Kennedale

OL Hayden Conner, Katy Taylor

LB Terrance Cooks II, Alvin Shadow Creek

RB Trey Cross, Midland Greenwood

ATH Dametrious  Crownover, Grandview

ATH Juan Davis, Everman

QB Dematrius Davis, Galena Park North Shore

WR Quaydarius Davis, Dallas Skyline

QB Jay'lon Dobbins, Lubbock Estacado

QB Kyron Drones, Alvin Shadow Creek

RB Aaron Dumas, El Paso Americas

WR JoJo Earle, Aledo

OL Rueben Fatheree, Richmond Foster

OL Bryce Foster, Katy Taylor

ATH Roddrell Freeman, Mart

RB Noah Garcia, Abilne Cooper

WR Dylan Goffney, Bridgeland

WR Bryson Green, Allen

WR Antwaan Gross, Refugio

DB Deuce Harmon, Denton Guyer

LB Derrick Harris Jr., New Caney

QB Kai Horton, Carthage

RB Zach Hrbacek, Troy

DB Ishmael Ibraheem, Dallas Kimballl

DL Braylen Jackson, Mansfield Lake Ridge

DL Landon Jackson, Pleasant Grove

OL Donovan Jackson, Bellaire Episcopal

WR Cody Jackson, Richmond Foster

WR Ketron Jackson, Royse City

RB Jordan Jenkins, Lindale

QB Dane Jentsch, Grandview

RB LJ Johnson, Cy-Fair

RB Steve Johnson, Port Lavaca Calhoun

RB Chris Johnston, Flatonia

RB Cash Jones, Brock

ATH Jordan Kelley, Refugio

TE Landen King, Humble Atascocita

WR Cole Kirkpatrick, Argyle

RB Jacob Lee, Azle

DB Devin Lemear, Manor

ATH De'Anthony Lewis, Converse Judson

TE Jasper Lott, Argyle

ATH Chase Lowery, Frisco

WR Titus Lyons, Pottsboro

QB Eddie Lee Marburger, Sharyland Pioneer

WR Christian Marshalll, Wimberley

QB Will Maynard, Amarillo

RB Alton McCaskill II, Conroe Oak Ridge

DB Latrel McCutchin, Austin LBJ

RB Kaden Meredith, Longview

QB Jalen Milroe, Katy Tompkins

QB Behren Morton, Eastland

DB Andrew Mukuba, Austin LBJ

DL Chris Murray, Wichita Falls Hirschi

WR Latrell Neville, Fort Bend Hightower

QB Garrett Nussemeier, Flower Mound Marcus

RB Rueben Owens, El Campo

ATH Joseph Perez, Bruni

QB Braden Plyler, Pottsboro

QB Garret Rangel, Frisco Lone Star

DB Ara Rauls III, Waco La Vega

DB Lyrik Rawls, Marshall

RB Jake Richards, Motley County

QB Sawyer Robertson, Lubbock Coronado

QB Kaidon Salter, Cedar Hill

ATH Ja'Tavion Sanders, Denton Ryan

QB Kolt Schuckers, Lindsay

QB Carter Senterfitt, Corpus Christi Veterans Memorial

LB Clayton Smith, Texas High

WR Za'Korien Spikes, Cameron Yoe

QB Preston Stone, Dallas Parish Episcoapl

QB Eli Stowers, Denton Guyer

WR J.Michael Sturdivant, Flower Mound Marcus

DL Jordon Thomas, Port Arthur Memorial

DL Shemar Turner, DeSoto

ATH Hunter Warminski, White Deer

DB Hunter Washington, Katy

DL Landyn Watson, Hutto

RB Camar Wheaton, Lakeview Centennial

QB Ace Whitehead, Lampasas

ATH Jack Wilkerson, Spearman

DL Jarveon Williams, Ennis

DB Jimmy Wyrick, South Oak Cliff